860 E. 9085 S. SANDY, UT 84094



801.566.1207 | USBA.CC

Dear Legislators,

On behalf on the Board of Directors of Utah Schools Boards Association, we are writing to affirm our position of local control and to express our opposition to HB331, the Hope Scholarship Program. Utah School Boards Association (USBA) believes locally elected non-partisan school boards best represent community education needs, the families and the students we serve. We support local control where school decisions are made at the local level, closer to the people, being more responsive to citizens who are our neighbors.

Public schools need our support now more than ever. Public funds should support public education. USBA is opposed to all efforts that move public education funds to private schools and/or private service providers through scholarships, vouchers or tax credits.

Public schools serve all students regardless of race, ability level, financial means, or address.

Public schools must adhere to state accountability and transparency measures that ensure student growth, holding them accountable to taxpayer dollars. Private schools or private service providers do not have the same accountability transparency measures.

Studies and research show no academic benefit to students from voucher or private school subsidies.

There are many education options in our state for parents to choose from. The data shows that 90% of parents choose public schools in Utah. Parents are overwhelmingly satisfied with the public education provided in our state.

Scholarships, vouchers, and tax credits should not be used to support schools that do not support all Utah students. Diverting funds from public education undermines its ability to fulfill its mandate to educate all students. Loss of funds could result in larger class sizes, fewer counselors and fewer class options for students.

Our students and employees deserve continued commitment to public education. This legislative session, we need to focus public funds on the 590,000+ students in our local school districts. The Joint Legislative Committee (JLC) has voted to oppose HB 331. We ask you to vote no to HB 331.

Sincerely,

Lindah) Hanks

Linda Hanks, USBA President Brigit J. Seazed Brigit Gerrard, USBA President-Elect Underforder Teri Rhodes, USBA Vice-President MUL

Amber Shill, Immediate Past President

USBA Board of Directors:

Gregg Miller, Logan School District Jennifer Zundel, Ogden School District Cheryl Phipps, Davis School District Marianne Allen, Wasatch School District Katherine Kennedy, Salt Lake School District Terry Bawden, Granite School District Jennifer Partridge, Provo School District Merri Shumway, San Juan School District Tracy Miller, Jordan School District Cassie Beutler, Juab School District April LeFevre, Garfield School District Mark Clement, Alpine School District Janis Christensen, Weber School District Shannon Acor, Nebo School District Becky Dunn, Washington School District Mont Millerberg, Canyons School District Camille Knudson, Tooele School District Curtis Whipple, Wayne School District Robin McClellan, Uintah School District Lisa Livingston, Kane School District Kristi Swett, Salt Lake School District